Difficult choice today

Some days I have no pics and have to do an emergency late night one of something indoors - other days, like today,  I have lots to choose from and don't know which to Blip.
It was bitterly cold today with a strong northerly wind but the sun was shining so I decided to go to the Wildfowl and Wetland Trust at Welney and see the swans, hopefully with a sunset. I did get the sunset, but not the view I was expecting - I saw the best shot from the bridge over river as I was returning to the car (extra pic1). There were lots of swans of course and I chose this one as the main pic. this is a Whooper Swan which migrates here from Iceland in October and returns to Iceland in the early spring. There are several thousand here eventually. The shot I really want to get is a swan landing on water - they stick their legs out straight and sort of waterski in. Unfortunately they spend the day in the fields and only return to the reserve as it gets dusk - not ideal for high speed action shots! Today I got the closest so far to a landing (extra pic 2)
My hands were so cold I lost all feeling in them and had to sit in the car for 10 minutes to thaw them out before ~I could start it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.