Grey clouds over...

"Go thrust him out at gates, and let him smell
His way to Dover."


One of my favourite Shakespeare plays is "King Lear"  with its exploration of ambition, cruelty, madness, family love and hatred.  Regan, one of the King's daughters, having organised the putting out of Gloucester's eyes, throws him out to make his way to Dover  where he once more meets up with the mad old king.


We did not witness any madness other than the wildly cold wind in Dover today.  We visited the castle which was fascinating (Yes, Chantler63, we did join English Heritage - more Blipmeets possible ...) and one of the views we got was this one from the castle grounds.  I liked the greyness of the light in the sky and the sea and the harbour walls.  I liked the little glimpse of red at the end of the harbour wall with one of the navigation lights.  I liked the tininess of the two boats out at sea.  I liked the little glimpse of the cap on the statue of Admiral Sir Bertram Ramsay who masterminded the Dunkirk Landings from the tunnels underneath Dover Castle.  I liked the windswept bush.


I was glad I had my fur headband and my gloves with me.  At one point we had to hang on to each other to stop ourselves being blown away.


We went to have a look at the White Cliffs too.  There's a shot in the extras which shows how the light was at the end of the afternoon.  An interesting day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.