Scottish innovation I

Given the countless inventions and innovations that have sprung from the brilliant minds of Scots throughout history, I thought I would give a nod to the ones that positively impact my life daily, along with the lives of millions of other people. Finding something with Scottish roots in your life is a breeze, regardless of where in the world you live.

Speaking of breezes; exactly how profoundly this innovation has changed and bettered lives throughout history isn't difficult to imagine if you imagine the absence of it.

In 1775, Alexander Cummings invented the S-trap for the flush toilet, still in use today, which uses standing water to block the escape of noxious air from the sewer.

*not submitted for the See us project which I love; for that I shall endeavor to find something other than inanimate objects.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.