The second half of life..

By twigs

A history of cooking......

One of my dear Nanna's cookbooks from the 1950's (middle spiral-bound), a "Bedsitter Cookery" from the early days of flatting in the late 1970's (though I think this one may be my sisters!  Sorry F - but if you want it back you'll have to come and get it!), a microwave cookbook from the 1990's, the classic Kiwi 'Edmond's cookbook' from when I first arrived in New Zealand in the 1980's, Annabelle Langbein cooking up beautiful, simple dishes in around 2000 and now, scrummy vegetarian food from 2012 ish.  My, how our knowledge and understanding of food and nutrition has changed in those years, changes beautifully illustrated in the ingredients, recipes and cooking methods in each of the books.  

And still, my preferred dish is a green, leafy salad!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.