SparseRunner

By SparseRunner

Disappointed

OK, I got outside on a lovely day, but the Scottish Score Orienteering Champs wasn't the right call for me. I didn't get to see much of the enticing pine woods I drove past when I arrived, rather open land, forest tracks and, given my minimal body cover, rather too much gorse [which wasn't mapped].There were lovely views of the Earn valley and snowy mountains [extras] but cloud had started to build up when I went for a walk round the area afterwards, hoping to capture the views. And, in retrospect, it's to the mountains that I should have gone.

On my way back, I took the opportunity to visit Loch Leven, having driven past is so many times without stopping. There were some pleasant views across the loch, with the castle on the island, but disappointed that it seems to be impossible to get good views of Kinross House.

Update 1: I feel a bit better for having gone now I've seen my result, and learned that ELO won the small clubs champs!

Update 2: Discovered that I'm disqualified for crossing a fence other than at a crossing point, which loses the cup for the club. Definitely should have gone to the hills!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.