Oh My Days!

By lovelupins17

Inspired by Bill Viola...

Oh my days!!!!  Went to Yorkshire Sculpture Park today with 60plus to see the Bill Viola exhibition there…. oh my oh my… I had goosebumps and chills down my spine within minutes.  His work absolutely took our minds to another level… we were transfixed on the visual and audio art videos covering birth, life, death and spirituality… wow!
Night Vigil was two screens, on the left screen a woman slowly lit candles….. the right screen started as just black, and then a white dot appeared which became a man walking slowly towards us.  She lit more candles… he walked closer and closer… until she dived into the water beneath her and he walked through a barrier of fire… the visuals were just breathtakingly, mind blowing.
Photography not allowed (drat and double drat) so me and 60plus were inspired to try our own thing to depict half of the screen each.  This is actually 60p walking towards me.
Do go if you get the chance… not everyone's cup o tea I guess but wow… we had an awesome and very memorable day out.  Bill's impression will stay with me - possibly forever!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.