Photos from a random mind

By katkatkat

They make it look so easy

On Tuesday I picked up a flat pack storage box from IKEA. Our library/study has a mishmash of boxes all piled on top of the shelves storing random stuff. I decided it would be nice to eventually get all the stuff thrown away stored in neat boxes. As they're quite expensive I decided I'd buy one each time I'm in the store.

I opened the instructions, assembled my tools (a hammer) and set about assembling it. According to the instructions I would need to use the little piece of wood to tap the metal in to place. About an inch from the end I would need to use the hammer to get the last little bit in place. That was a lie, tapping with the little piece of did nothing, hammer it is then. Well, I hammered and I hammered and I hammered. It went down about 2 inches. Rethink. I got the sandpaper and sanded where the metal would hopefully run to try and make it go smoother. I hammered some more. I hunted out the silicone spray and filled the air with a mist of lubrication. I hammered some more. Eventually I gave up for about the fifth time and left it. This box is called a prant and later I noticed the hammer obscuring the p. "rant" well it summed up my thoughts pretty well.

Eventually I gave up and left it over night, more sanding, more silicone and an awful lot more hammering and my box is finally complete!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.