Views of my world

By rosamund

Yarn

I had a lovely hour this morning spinning and finishing some yarn.

Last night I did some navaho plying with my refresher yarn to finish it off. Navaho plying lets you ply the single with itself and creates a 3 ply finished yarn. When spinning my wheel spins clockwise so to ply it should go anti-clockwise, unfortunately I started it late at night and plied the whole lot backwards! I put it on the niddy noddy last night and left it to this morning, I guess I was hoping it would magically be fine!

When I took it off the niddy noddy it was still quite twisted and springy, this is because even more twist was put into the yarn when plying when usually this part of the process helps to even out any overspin. I gave it a good hot wash and whacked it on the bath a lot, I re-skeined it on the niddy noddy then hung it to dry weighted with my new iron. It's now drying quite nicely but I doubt I could knit with it as it would all slant to one side I think. I'm hoping it would weave just fine, I'll need to just try it and see.

I also finished off some silk odds and ends I'd been working with and they came up beautifully!

I had a mostly lazy day with just a little organisation for our trip to Carradale tomorrow. Marisol came round tonight and we had wine, tapas and a good old blether. I'm looking forward to a few days away, some better weather wouldn't hurt though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.