Surprised by joy

It doesn't look much, but I was thrilled to bits to see this in the midday sky. It's a sun dog, and I guess it appeared because it's pretty cold again today.
They're hard to photograph, and I haven't managed a good shot so far ( can you tell :) ? )
They fade pretty quickly, then come back again, and this one was visible for at least a couple of hours, although it was too cloudy to make out the one on the opposite side of the sun .
I wonder how many people noticed it ? I didn't see anyone looking at it, though they might have seen the nutty old girl pointing her camera at the sky. Such a pretty thing , and rarer than a rainbow - I must have seen hundreds of rainbows, but I think this is only the fifth sun dog.
So next time it's a bit nippy, look up - you might see a tiny treasure.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.