weewilkie

By weewilkie

let me take this picture

the sound of rain
on the bus shelter roof
the sloosh
of traffic
a Nepalese family
with girls I teach
struggle across the wet road
in their best
salwar kameezes
and bright smiles
in their excitement
at going
to the grand opening
of their Uncle's restaurant
in town
they tell me
as the bus approaches
to take us
in the same direction
for a while;
they huddle on board
and I trail
this
happy moment
in their first year
in our city
all the way
till they disembark
and when they do
my thoughts
pursue their leaving
to this gathering point
in their far journey,
and how this precious glimpse
of hope and family and community
in transition
was heralded
by the sound of Glasgow rain
that made me look up
and take this picture.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.