Tower of London (finally!)

Got free tickets to the Tower of London today courtesy of my friend Dwayne who was not able to join us. Nevertheless I enjoyed the visit with Christian and Jhal. In today's blip entry you can see the White Tower on the right (the oldest part of the Tower) and the Waterloo Barracks on the left (one of the newst parts of the Tower). There are a few more buildings comprising the Tower of London which are not in this photo. The Tower looks pretty big in the inside which i did not expect. The Waterloo Barracks houses the Crown Jewels. I was so amazed at how i close i got to the different crowns the different monarchs wore before. I am most impressed by the Imperial State Crown (currently being used by the Queen on occassions) because it was just so beautifully crafted and shiny! I particularly liked the 4 hanging pearls at the top of the crown.

Travel back to Coventry was not enjoyable at all. We all had to change train at Northampton. When we got there, we had to wait for at least 15mins outside in the cold and when the train arrived and we were all settled inside, one of the staff members announced that the driver was missing. We had to wait for 20mins more. I thought the hardest part of the journey was over when it was announced that there was a change in calling points and my stop was not part of it. Great! I decided to get off at Coventry and took the bus back to campus. As i was waiting out in the cold, this lady (from how she spoke her English, she wasnt from the UK) with a heavy luggage came up to me and ask me if i could give her a place to sleep because someone who promised her a place did not show up. I swear i felt so bad telling her that i could not offer her a place for the night since i was only renting as well and honestly I was afraid to let a complete stranger stay in our house.  I suggested that she proceed to the station office and talk to train staff since they are more likely to be able to help her than me. She however did not seem interested in my suggestion, said "Thank you"  and turned her back from me. I got very suspicious after that. I dont know how to really feel about it now. I dont know if i should feel relieved that I said "No" (because she might just be bluffing) or should i feel sad for not helping a genuinely "in trouble" person. But in times like now, i do understand how people can be so skeptic and suspicious about things around them. Sad reality of the world.

Extra Photos : Credit to Jhal Fojas. Picture 1 from outside Tower of London. Picture 2 from inside the White Tower.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.