Never Work With Children or Myriapods

I’ve shown White-legged Snake Millipedes before, but I’ve got no problem doing it again for several reasons. First and foremost, I like them. But being shiny, they’re also quite a good test of my new X-ray Diffraction Argon Laser Quantum Diffuser. Thanks to my almost magical design skills, the diffusing bit worked quite well. But there was a problem – bloody biology! Getting enough light to focus at high magnification meant that the millipede froze – good for focus stacking – but in a rather unnatural pose. When I turned the light off, it resumed normal behaviour, but was moving too fast to get more than one frame off, so no focus stacking. Never work with children – ever. And while we’re at it, never work with Myriapods either.


White-legged Snake Millipede, Tachypodoiulus niger. Nikon D5200 Tokina 100mm+68mm f8 1/250 ISO 100

http://wp.me/pieTR-pI

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.