History lesson

As a result of my bike accident four years ago, I am still missing a front tooth, but at long last the end of all the orthodontics is in sight, and today I had the first of four appointments with the reconstructive dentist in Carlisle which will lead to my implant being fitted in the new year.

Having inserted a tray of pink goo into my mouth and while waiting for it to set, the dentist gave me a potted history of dental implants. I learned that the use of titanium as the chosen metal was pioneered by a Swedish orthopaedic surgeon called Per-Ingmar Branemark while researching bone healing in rabbits. 

My new tooth is going to be made in New Jersey (the recession in Europe having closed the Spanish and Swedish manufacturers).
I always like to walk around the cathedral when I'm in Carlisle, and this photo shows several architectural periods and the huge pipes of the Victorian organ.
The extra shows a memorial to the clergyman and philosopher William Paley. He is buried here with his two wives.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.