Tiny Tuesday: 1874

Although we completed the house move a few weeks ago, we still have quite a few boxes waiting to be unpacked.

Of course we frequently find ourselves tearing our hair out because we can't lay our hands on a something we want, but the upside is that sometimes it's like Christmas - we unpack a wonderful surprise!

I hadn't seen this knife for ages, and if you'd asked me where it was in our old house I wouldn't have had a clue...but yesterday I came across it here.

An old neighbour gave it to me when I was young - no more than 10 or 11, I'd guess. It's obviously seen some heavy use earlier in its life, but  it's still in very good condition and it's a beautiful piece of work. It's a Swedish barrel knife, of a type made by a number of manufacturers in Eskilstuna in the late 1800s. This one was made by Johan Engström, and is amost identical to the one shown here (although mine doesn't say "SWEDEN", so presumably wasn't an export model).

Tiny Tuesday is hosted by JDO. You can view all entries here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.