pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

Anglia Television Building Norwich

I walk past this iconic building most days; a building that represents an organisation we all recognise. It sits on Agricultural Hall Plain at the top of Prince of Wales Road, Norwich,which runs from the railway station to the city centre. I'd love to go in and have a nose about - or maybe just as a fly on the wall.

Now a bit of history (I looked it up as part of my drive to educate myself, and therefore eventually be accepted as a Norfolkian!!) The building was opened in 1882 as The Agricultural Hall. Until the 2nd World War it was used as such and as an exhibition centre. Norwich Corporation took it over and re-let it when it's lease ran out after 75 years - transforming the interior into studios for the eastern region's Independent Television. This was 1957. It continues to be the head office for Anglia Television.

The rest of my day has been busy. I've been busy. Probably a bit grumpy because I couldn't get everything done that I wanted to do, but that is the nature of the work (& the pressure I put on myself). My neck aches. Tension and lots of tedious punching (just data entry - I haven't resorted to fights just yet).

Didn't leave until 5. Home at 6. Cooked a curry with Sunday's leftover pork but Henry didn't eat much (says he doesn't like cooked onion, pepper and tomato - or the rice it has touched!!) grrr

Went out to the coop to buy advent calendars while I remembered. Then home to wash up and that brings us to now. After the pottery throw down, I'm going to bed to read. Just 3 more stupidly early dog walking mornings in the pitch black, and then I get a lie in.

Must stop wishing my life away....but then again, I've had enough of this current phase of my life - so roll on something better.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.