Crab apples

We had one of these crab apple trees in our yard when I was growing up, & I can still remember the sting they caused when they'd hit me in the face or on the arm (courtesy of my brothers, who delighted in throwing them at me---along with worms, spiders, a grass snake & grasshoppers--they were so evil!!  (My brothers that is, not the assortment of things they'd throw!  And I'd never get any sympathy from my mother, who would tell me to "ignore them", which is a tad difficult to do when being chased by 4 boys with assorted insects/reptiles!)  But as adults they've all apologized for being so awful & claim to have no memory of doing those terrible things!  (though it's hard for them to keep a straight face as they say it!  Haha!  Can you tell that one's a lawyer??)  
Anyway, these tiny little crab apples are my entry for TinyTuesday! 
I got so much done today! I've got all my ingredients set out for my cooking marathon that will start tomorrow in preparation for Thanksgiving Day on Thursday--the house is spotless, the tables are set up, candles & flowers on the tables, soda, wine, beer & wine coolers outside where they'll stay cold until they're ready to be drunk up--all I need is the family to show up on Thursday!  After we eat, we'll watch the evening game of football where our beloved Packers will play the Chicago Bears at Lambeau Field----during half time, they're holding the ceremony to honor Brett Favre, one of the best quarterbacks to play the game,  & to retire & unveil his number on the ring of honor---- #4. They're hoping he'll be joined on the field by another outstanding former Packer, quarterback Bart Starr, whose #15 was retired in 1973. Bart Starr is 81 years old and has had several strokes, but he and his family have been working hard to make his dream of being there on the field with Brett a reality. Bart Starr is the only quarterback in NFL history to lead his team to 5 championships--I hope he makes it, as what a moment to have these 2 Packer Greats on the field at one time!!  Won't be a dry eye in the house! :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.