Derelict Monday?

Sorry but I'm a day late for derelict Sunday!

R took the day off of work today so that we could go down to Conowingo Dam to view the eagles that nest there.  The Conowingo Dam is a large hydroelectric dam in the lower Susquehanna River near the town of Conowingo, Maryland.  What was supposed to be a 2.5 hour drive turned into 3 hours! That's what we get for traveling during the morning rush hour! 


R had read that this dam was a birdwatcher's paradise with over 170 species of birds being observed here.  November is the best month for seeing bald eagles.  And we weren't disappointed.  I have added three extras of just some of the bald eagles we saw.  I didn't feel the pictures were blip worthy so I am putting them on as extras.  The 3rd extra shows two juveniles ..... the uppermost eagle has a fish in his talons and the lower juvenile was going after it. 


We had a great time but most of it was spent sitting there watching and waiting for the eagles to either fly overhead or fish in the river. We got to the dam around mid morning so it was a bit late for viewing most of the fishing the eagles do in the early morning.  Next time we will have to get here earlier! 


On the way home we drove through Amish country and picked up some produce along the way.  We also passed this house (not in Amish country!) which I quickly photographed as we drove by. It was quite derelict as evidenced by the sagging roof. I would like to think I have improved it with my processing!  I quick rehab, if you will. 


The location on the map is for Conowingo Dam.  I couldn't tell you exactly where I took the picture, but the eagle picture were taken at the Dam. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.