*¨*:•Everyday Magic•:*¨*

By Squatbetty

329/365: Walter

No doubt you will be surprised to hear from me, but I being your son's Platoon Sgt and being with him up to the last, feel it my duty to write and if possible console you a little for the loss of your dear son. It must be a greater blow than we can realise out here. 

He was a very good and willing young soldier, and always very cheerful, even at times when we were hard pressed, and I know that all of the men along with myself miss him very much.

It is some consolation to know that he suffered no pain and the remainder of the platoon along with myself attended his burial and saw that he had a cross to mark his resting place. Please accept our deepest sympathy from all his comrades and myself in your sad bereavement, but one has the consolation of knowing he did his very best for such a noble and just cause.

Sgt. B. Brierley, November 1917

Thinking of my great uncle Walter. He was killed in the Great War 98 years ago today. The blip is from his little sister's (my nana) birthday book. This book has been so helpful when I've been doing my family tree. It's often quite sad though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.