... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Covered Market: Oxmas Decorations

Christmassier colours in large.

"... and a peacock in a fake tree"?

"Oxmas" is the exaggerated earliness of Christmas in Oxford as students try to celebrate Christmas before term ends (early in December). Some events are actually brought forwards (I've already been served Christmas pudding at a dinner, and have carol services next week), but I'm not sure that the decorations &c. are actually earlier than anywhere else (judging by the state of things as I passed through London last weekend).

I wandered through the Covered Market on my way between a morning ultrasound session (studying ultrasound) up in Headington, and an afternoon working on a presentation on Čerenkov radiation and its use in biomedical imaging. These bright birdy decorations were definitely a high point in my day (which is saying something); I'm feeling an awfully long way from birds, academically...

*Looks forward to the weekend*

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.