WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Roasted apricots

I spent much of the morning dealing with our impulse buys at the market on Wednesday. I spent 20 minutes pitting cherries to make yet more compote. The rest have either been eaten as-is, or went into the cherry sauce we had with grilled magret de canard this evening. I made a clafoutis with some of the apricots. Some of the rest were roasted: just halve, stone and put in a single layer in an oven-proof dish. Scatter over some vanilla sugar, and throw in a couple of the vanilla pods too. If you have some sweet Muscat wine, add a small glass of that. Drizzle over a little olive oil, and roast in a moderate oven for about 20 minutes, till they are soft and the skins have started to wrinkle. Serve warm or cold, with yoghurt, cream, or ice cream.

I still have about a kilo of apricots left -- I need to think of something else to do with them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.