'Fun in the Sun'

Patchy day today weatherwise....but we managed to get a short walk and coffee at Nat.Trust today. I loved this Wintry scene..the light looked lovely on the water.

Late afternoon I went to the flicks to see the film 'The Lady in a Van'....a British film adapted by Alan Bennett from his 1999 hit West End play, which was nominated at the 2000 Olivier Awards for Play of the Year. The films tells a true story of the relationship between Alan Bennett and Miss Shepherd, who 'temporarily' parked her van in Bennett's London driveway and proceeded to live there for 15 years. Dame Maggie Smith was outstanding as Miss Shepherd and towards the end of the film, I had tears streaming down my face. Alex Jennings takes the part of Alan Bennett.  It reminded me of my life as a Doctor's Receptionist. Over 15 years I got to know so many 'elderly' patients. Never judge a book by it's cover...we had one old man who used to come in with egg down his tie...turned out he was a retired Brigadier! Another old lady used to tell me stories of her life as a dancer.....one day she came in with a photo album.....she had been part of the Bluebell Girls dance troupe in her younger days. There is always more to the story!  Go and see this film! Its VERY good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.