*Tarrrr-rraaaa!!!*

"Ricky, how good to see you again! What do you think of this year's show?"
"Well, it's always a joy to be here, Jim, especially at my age you know, but I must honestly say I was very taken by your piece downstairs. There's so much ostentatiousness in art these days, and there really is room* for a quietly reflective image. Maybe it is an age thing, right enough. (*quietly chuckles*)"
Yes, yes, the opening of the RSA Open Exhibition; a chance to mingle with the arty set in Edinburgh. Starting with old Demarco of course. And pick up a free glass of wine. Or two. That imindoors photo was attracting a bit of attention, I couldn't help notice as I loitered near my own snap. Perhaps his will sell out, and some rich collectors will have money burning a hole in their pockets.
So, onwards! A celebratory meal in l'Escargot Blanc for Monsieur L'artiste. I think I'm now a poor artist though -  a new cheese shop has opened round the corner and earlier I poked my nose in. Try this says the cheese counter chappy. Something de Jura matured - lovely, I'll have a thin slice says I, in blasé fashion. £6.57 for a hundred odd grams! I am worth it though. I'm sure Ricky thinks so.

*not bloody much room; they're crammed in there four high, and you'd need to be 8'6" to eyeball my photo. Actually, perhaps that's no bad thing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.