Clitocybe gibba

or Common Funnel.

On a truly wet & wild day up here I was lucky to spot these as I peeked past hat & hood in the lashing sideways rain that has been simply torrential all day - but against the mix of fallen beech & oak leaves they added a nice flash of contrast - you oh so nearly got a huge house spider - but as the weather gets colder I suspect there'll be more of those coming along....

The poor funnel is quite a way past it's prime - so a 100% identification isn't really possible - but all the identifiers are there. Shame as I'd have liked it to have been Clitocybe rivulosa which would have been more apt! There's a slim chance its Clitocybe geotropa (Trooping Funnel) - but there were only this little grouping - and I spent a goodly while looking for others - however Trooping can be a very large mycelium - one in France was identified as having made a fairy ring over half a mile in diametre. However I think there's enough colour difference remaining between the cap & the gills to eliminate it from the id process. It also doesn't display the curled lip or wide stem of a blewit whilst retaining some of the wavy edge we'd expect in a Common Funnel - so that's what I'm going with.

Shame I didn't spot them earlier!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.