Miracles of nature

I mentioned to a Blip friend yesterday that I am completely indebted to Blip, and that's why I'll keep going with it as long as it exists - even though I have an account elsewhere (which reminds me, I need to get it up-to-date).

I never knew how fascinating insects were until I started to take macro images in order to blip.

We started to build a bee hotel last year, and like the way of a lot of things in my life, it got sidelined.  We couldn't really decide where to put it, and it's a bit too big, and the dogs kept pinching the sticks for chewies, etc.etc. (you know how it is).

It has been shoved on a table under the eaves of the house, where it's been for the last 6 months, and we had every intention of putting all the remaining  sticks in the skip, and abandoning the idea.,

Until today.

Imagine my delight (it was a cartwheel moment), when I just this afternoon noticed, that some of the holes had been sealed up.  That could mean only one thing.  The resin bees have moved in.

And then.... and then.... I saw movement.  I saw a bee finishing off a hole.  See all the tiny fragments of soil and grit that she's mixed with "something" to seal the hole that is the home to her offspring. (Main image)

and then.... and then.... I saw her coming out of another hole.  She was checking it out, and I got movie.  It's really bad movie, so we're going to set up the tripod and I'm going to have another go, and we'll post it to YouTube.  We have a private account, but have never used it.  I promise I';ll give the link when it's up and running.

Be happy for me, Blip friends - I am overcome with joy right now.  And we're going to finish the Bee Hotel - that's another promise.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.