1day>1week>1month>1year

By cowgirl

Paaaarrrtttttyyyyyyyyy!!!!!

The owners of The Hollybush in Church Broughton threw a '70's/'80's bash to celebrate their 11 years of tenure. It's the pub my brother works at and does the best food for miles around.

I realise that I don't have a good photo of our esteemed landlady, who was dressed as Bet Lynch ( brash and brassy blonde landlady from one of our long running soap operas ), but I did get her hubby and head chef - the 118 guy on the end. Next to him, his 118 counterpart is his assistant chef. Yes I know 118 118 is a modern thing ( it's a telephone directory company ) the 118 guys are from the '70's.

Wonder Woman is one of our local nurses working at the doctors I attend. I told her next time I'm due a smear test I expect her to be dressed like this!

The Ozzy Osbourne hippy guy in the middle picture is Sav, reminiscing how it was to have hair ( annoying, he said, keeps getting in his drink! ).

The main picture is me and my little brother. He said he wore a shell suit as it would be easy to wipe the beer off ( as he's the barman, not because he's a sloppy drinker! ).

To be honest, our costumes were a bit close to the '60's for my liking but the best we could do on the spur of the moment as we only decided we would attend a few hours before it started.

Anyway, we had fun and it was still going when we left at 1:30am, and just before we left ' Bet ' told us they have 64 Sunday lunches booked in for today ( I'm blipping in my pj's on a blustery no-point-getting-dressed Sunday lunchtime ). Rather them than me!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.