From Montrose Basin Nature Reserve

Drove down to the Basin this morning. Not the best weather for driving - the sun is low this time of year, and it snowed last night so the road was wet and the sun reflected quite strongly from it. Even my Armani Shades were no protection, but I managed it without incident. Going through Montrose the sun was reflecting off the Christmas decorations making them look as if they were already alight - blipped!  When I got into the Nature Reserve Observation Room I found I was the only one there except for a very excited Ranger. "Look, look," he screamed, "there's Kingfisher just landed."  Well, we had fun focussing his telescope. Then I managed a not very sharp shot with the zoom fully extended on my camera. I wished I brought my SX60 - but the SX50 hasn't done a bad job. The hills across the waters were magnificent with the sun shining on them. Sadly, the sun didn't last, but I caught the best of it. Glad to get back home to the warmth though!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.