Tritone Fontain

I braved the weather forecast today to head back down to the south east corner of England. It was lucky I left early as I managed to avoid the snow falls and traffic accidents on the A90.

I made my first stop at the Cairn Lodge services just south of Glasgow. Although this is a motorway service area it must be one of the least frequented on the entire motorway network. Deciding to have a coffee I went in to the cafeteria. I may not have been quite the only customer there, but certainly staff outnumbered the customers.

In the centre of the seating area there is this fountain. The Triton reminds me of the Fontana di Tritone in Rome. I presume the similarity is intentional.

After stopping for petrol on the M6 Toll I ran into a massive traffic jam where the M6 Toll leads back on to the M6 and the turn off for the M42. There was another huge traffic jam somewhere near Oxford on the M40.

Having departed Aberdeen in the dark I arrived in Twyford long after dark, and having spent many hours of the journey in rain and heavy wind. Passing through the Lake District I passed two overturned trucks on the southbound carriageway, but I suspect there were more.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.