Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Goodie!

I put some peanuts out today for the blue jays, but the titmice found them first and made haste in grabbing as many as possible.  It's so funny watching them take flight with a nut that is nearly as big as their heads - and amazingly, they usually always manage to get their prize to a branch.  And that is usually when things start to fail...invariably, as they try to hold the nut under their feet against the branch while pecking through the shell, the nut slips and falls to the ground.  Still, it never deters them.  And I suppose squirrels eventually find the nuts, so all ends well.

I decided to go with a titmouse today partly as a small celebration for myself - Cornell Lab of Ornithology contacted me this morning to ask if they could use this photo of a titmouse in their winter issue of Living Bird Magazine.  Pretty thrilling to be published in their magazine as it is is a very nice publication and one that tends to have a fairly long shelf life.  Yep, feeling chuffed to the max.

Another sunny, albeit cold, day - Hubs and I went for a nice long walk after lunch, all bundled up and still wearing the "I'm not a deer, please don't shoot me" cap.  (Which worked, obviously.)

In other yard news...saw several migrant fox sparrows at the edge of the woods this morning - always a cool bird to find!  

Thanks very much for stopping by today.  And thank you for the many hearts, stars and comments on Mr. Cardinal yesterday.

Cheers...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.