What a lovely day:-

By BKeeper

to Scratch the Surface

This is the reverse of the picture I showed you in my blip of 16th May 2015.

At that time I knew that the picture had been entitled Gathering Bracken - Ambersham Common. I also knew from the artists signature on the front that it had been painted by James Charles (1851-1906) I  recognised the artist's  particular signature and his style.   I also knew that it had first been sold by a gallery in London in 1907.  

That was about the total of my knowledge of the picture.

The reverse of the picture has now revealed much more about its history.

Along the bottom edge of the top wooden frame (the stretcher) there appears to be some scratching.  This is where someone has written "Gathering Bracken Ambersham Common"  This scratching however had not been recognised for over 100 years and in consequence had lead to the picture being given  incorrect titles over that time.

In a later hand and in pencil you will be able to see that someone has written "James Charles"  It is later because it overlies the scratching.

I was lucky and I have now been able to obtain a copy of the gallery sales ledger.  This confirms that it was sold in 1907 to someone called Z.  Merton.  Just on the right hand side of the picture you may be able to see the remnant of a paper sticker with the word "......Merton E..."

I think it can now be deduced that this sticker then said "Z. Merton Esq".

The 1901 census confirms that one Zachary Merton lived at the address stated in the gallery sales ledger.  Zachary Merton died in 1915 and left all his personal property (including paintings) to his wife Antoinette.  She died in 1930.

From there the search continues.

You might find it interesting to do an internet search of "Zachary Merton"

It is amazing that one can be sitting on all this history!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.