"Big As An Alsatian"

More frustrating admin today. :( I escaped after lunch and walked around Seventy Acres Lake. I got some shots, mainly herons, but the light was very poor. 

I was thinking of Matt Sewell's "Our Songbirds" book, given to me by my daughter, as I walked after having re-read it. Matt was featured on Countryfile last Sunday. I love his simple bird illustrations and was taken by his description of a Redwing as looking like it had accidentally sprayed under its 'arms' with red paint instead of deodorant.

However I do think calling the book "Our Songbirds" is stretching it a bit. I wouldn't call a mute swan, for one, a songbird but I do like his description of big cygnets' vocalisations as being like 'the squeaky voices of week-old puppies.'

I also take issue with a Great Black-backed Gull being described as, "Big as an Alsatian." They're big birds but not as big as my Jazzy dog. :)

Speaking of Sewells, I was very sad to hear that the inimitable art critic, motorcar and dog lover Brian Sewell died recently. I adored his Naked Pilgrim and Grand Tour series.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.