The Travellist's journal

By TheTravellist

Ubud, Bali

The Labuan Bajo airport is possibly the closest airport to town that I've ever seen. I could have easily walked in but it's very hot, my bag is heavy and taxis are very cheap. The airport is new and tiny. There weren't any other flights around the time I was there, so there were only about 20 people waiting to get on the scarily-small plane.

I did my normal tactic for taking both of my bags as hand luggage but then realise that the plane was so tiny that the overhead compartments wouldn't be big enough for my large bag. I awkwardly tried to stuff it under the seat in front of me but luckily one of the staff offered to put it in a cupboard.

The flight was just over an hour and I chatted to a nice girl from Newcastle who was travelling for a long time in Asia, like me. We landed in Bali and I got an expensive taxi (having been told by a few people it was my only option, which seems to not be true) to the sleepy town of Ubud.

I checked in to my new homestay about 5-10 minutes out of town and the family were very welcoming. I rented a scooter from them and headed to town for a late lunch. Ubud is very relaxed, especially now during low season, but it's also very touristy and is more expensive than anywhere I've seen in Indonesia so far. There are lots of nice food options though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.