Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

Bea-tific

Another 1st December, another World AIDS Day and another powerfully moving candlelit vigil at St George's Hall this evening. These events inspire me every year as I listen to people living with HIV, or with HIV+ family members, talk about their lives, hopes, fears and love of life and community. This year's speakers were particularly moving and uplifting and their passion, vitality and exuberance made the list of names of those local people lost to AIDS over the last 3 decades even more upsetting. What's also upsetting is that the HIV rates in Liverpool and Merseyside are now on the rise again after years of decline. We really all need to act to ensure that the right public health messages are being heard by all sections of the community.

After the vigil, Spokes and I headed to The Egg for soup and garlic bread with a bunch of my book club buddies (or is the collective noun for book club members 'a Chapter'?!) before the 8pm screening of 'Carol' at FACT. We read the book by Patricia Highsmith a couple of months ago in preparation for the film coming out and I have to say I wasn't desperately keen on it, finding the two main characters quite cold and hard to engage with. But... I loved the film! Screenwriter, Phyllis Nagy had done a brilliant job in sticking to the main points of the story but taking enough liberties with it to make it work smoothly and satisfyingly for the screen (and making it a treat for photography fans!). Todd Haynes was the perfect Director for the job and the whole experience was visually sumptuous, with the stars - Cate Blanchett and Rooney Mara - both giving excellent performances. So, it was a definite thumbs up from me.

Strangely enough, I met Phyllis Nagy briefly, 23 years ago, when she was workshopping what I think was her first play 'Weldon Rising' at the Liverpool Playhouse studio and I went along to hear a script read-through. She was very nice, as I recall!

Tonight's blip subject is book club regular, Bea, who is always dressed gorgeously in vintage fashions from the '30s/'40s/'50s and is the very definition of 'chic' - perfectly in keeping with the styles of the film. Thanks Bea!


Today's music choice is one of the great songs from the 'Carol' soundtrack... 'One Mint Julep' by The Clovers www.youtube.com/watch?v=2rNoR8jnPRU

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.