Waiting...

I escaped my desk about 3pm in search of fresh air, sunshine & chocolate.

As I was driving into Dysart I almost ran into a car stopped in the middle of the road, bonnet open and driver looking at the engine. It was a Trabant. I couldn't believe my eyes!

And in classic pose... middle of the road, bonnet open and driver looking at the engine.

The driver & car caught up with me in the beachfront car park - he'd push started it. That's why they were made from fibreglass - easier to push.

We had a chat about his Trabbie. He'd just bought it today and it had broken down immediately! I was tempted to suggest the seller should have given him money to take it away, but decided that would be unkind.

He'd found a Polish mechanic willing and able to fix it, and was waiting for the RAC to arrive to tow it there.

I left as the RAC man arrived. Some shaking & scratching of his head - not much experience of Trabbie fixing or towing.

I have a lot of old Trabbie jokes in the back of my head. East Germans had a black humour to help deal with their unhappy existence. Here's a short one...

Q: What will you find on p3 of a Trabant owner manual?
A: A bus timetable.

Seems appropriate.

Extra shot is the setting sun. After 5.5 days of rain, it was lovely to see.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.