JustSally

By JustSally

Memories

I have been reading the letters that I wrote to my mother and sister when I lived in Venezuela. They were written in 1965/66 when Normous was posted to work in a refinery there. We were accompanied by our baby daughter Anna and the letters are mainly about her development from 5 months to 23 months old. It is a great record and must have been a life line for her grandmother to read. Because we lived in a refinery town miles from anywhere, with a small ex-pat community, life was rather non eventful, so the letters are quite boring, unless you are an Anna fan! What does come over is how homesick I was.
I chose to illustrate the blip with Venezuelan stamps, and this entailed sorting through the stamp collection that my father set up for me. He was a man with enormous patience and I can appreciate now the work that he put into this project. I must talk to the family to see what they would like me to do with the collection.
It has been a day of memories.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.