Leiflife

By Leiflife

Hooded Merganzers

Since Sunday when the little family of ducks flew into Shearwater Park, I have encountered them twice more. Each time my heart has quickened with an eagerness that causes me to fumble with my camera. This makes me slow to aim and focus, and these little ducks are not slow. The first time they were not moving much, but they were in the shade so the pictures must be pushed during editing: brightened and saturated. Interesting, but not very clear. On Tuesday, I came upon the playing adorably in a surprising spot, so my camera must be tugged from my bag, and by the time I aimed and clicked they were swimming: this way, that way, and then away. The images were clearer.

There were six ducks: three males ( black and white and rust) and three females (soft brown). I wanted to show both male and female; this affected my choice. They are remarkable creatures, and my heart yearns for another glimpse. 

I decided to post one of the rather bizarre pictures shot in the shade of a bank from a distance. The color is kind of crazy, but I find it interesting. Maybe worth seeing...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.