Vista Park Pix

By VistaBob

Furnace Repairs

Jake came today to look at my furnace. My complaint is noise, mainly from the blower. Main problem is that the wall on the left goes to the living room and the return air duct ends there. So the noise ends up in the living room. Blower motor needs to be replaced at a cost of $850++. which I ordered.

So I have two long range problems: 1) the furnace - AC system is 18 years old, nearing the end of its useful life. The return air ducting needs to be corrected and new ducting from a remote ceiling location.

I could replace the system with new and more efficient  units. It would also be quieter with a variable speed motor and modulating burner arrangement. This would clear away the old installation and make way for a whole new layout. The beauty of this plan is that I would never have to worry about performance for years.

This little analysis is helping me decide. An estimator is coming tomorrow so I will have to beprepared for sticker shock. I expect a cost of around $10,000. The saga continues.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.