Tommy0161

By Tommy0161

Sprout....

Life sent me to Warrington today. I'm sure it has its charms but this prosperous (it occupies the perfect position on the motorway system to supply the north west of England with just about everything it needs) former industrial town isn't a thing of beauty. And it was voted bottom in a list of cultured towns and cities in the UK.

I found myself in the Golden Square shopping centre. It used to be the site of Warrington Market which moved to an astonishingly ugly 1970s building a long while ago. A square in the centre of the new shopping mall contains the beautful roof of the original market. I liked this part of the town. There was a little Christmas Market going on under it. While nothing like the size of the Christmas Markets in Manchester, it did give the area a nice, festive buzz. Overseeing it all was this huge reindeer called Sprout.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.