FlyingPRGal

By FlyingPRGal

Christmas Wish List

Out of the corner of my eye I spotted this model in the window of an antiques collectibles shop this afternoon. I'd just left a magazine meeting and took a stroll along while making a call to the office.

I had to do a double take as the silver aircraft looked familiar and so I went inside to look closer. The bell of the shop door dinged as I walked in and the shop owner greeted me. I knelt down by the window display and saw the words 'The Spirit of St Louis'. That's why it looked so familiar...it's a model of the aircraft on the front of the book I'm reading by Bill Bryson. What a coincidence!

The aircraft was a custom-built, single engine, single-seat monoplane that was flown solo by Charles Lindbergh on the first non-stop flight from New York to Paris in 1927.

Over dinner at mum and dad's this evening I showed dad the photographs and asked if Santa might be able to fit it on his sleigh. I'll have to wait until Christmas Day to find out!

We talked about creative ideas for Christmas to make it fun and came up with a few games to play with the whole family on Boxing Day. Traditional Christmas with simple gifts is the plan. Quality time together relaxing is top of our Christmas Wish List this year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.