Fly dragonfly

There is a lovely song called dragonfly by Magne F a Norwegian artist ( in many senses of the word- paint, clay, playing musical instruments) and maybe the lyrics of that song make me appreciate dragonflies a bit more.

This is my toptastic eBay purchase that arrived today. A lovely sterling silver and enamel brooch, a bit of the enamel has come off and half of the marcasite (sp?) stones are missing. I think it has some age to it and the lady selling it suggested it was her grandmothers.

I really like it, the wings are detailed and patterned. I think I'd like to remodel it a big by adding some peridot sparkles where the missing stones belong! I wonder if those red stones in the eyes are something exciting they really glow very red when a bright light is shone on them. Could be garnets but I'd love to think they are something else!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.