Louise - Changing Natures

By louisemac

#2050StartsNow

Conflicted about my Blip today as I want to show my solidarity with Blipfuture. But first and foremost Blip for me is for sharing significant moments from my day - and this has to be it.

This shot - taken not by me but by a member who was there - is of the amazing 2050 Young Climate Leaders Group, along with the Minister for Climate Change in the Scottish Government presenting this morning as part of the formal programme at the COP21 negotiations in Paris.

To say I'm proud of them would be an understatement- what an incredible group of young leaders. Utterly inspiring and so committed to making positive change now.

Watching on the livestream was wonderful - and I was honoured to get a wee mention and a wave from the audience too!

And that - dear reader - is why Blip is important- allowing me to capture, record and reflect on this day. It's why I'm supporting Blipfuture every step of the way.

I trust the people involved - they are committed, passionate and have great integrity. I think the Community Interest Company model is spot on. It allows the community to take ownership, shape and create the future not within a commercial imperative model. It's essentially putting both the power and the responsibility in OUR hands.

The previous company has gone - so no handwringing from me over books and life memberships - both of which I paid for. This is a brand new entity and could be a thing of real community beauty.

I'm in x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.