Hark to the psithurism!

There's been a strong wind gusting ferociously all day and all evening. It's like a washing machine out there, churning and pounding and surging.The sound of it envelops the house. But the wind itself makes no noise  does it?  What I'm hearing is the movement of solid objects meeting the air currents. The doors and windows rattle, the cat flap clatters as it swings to and fro, the suction up the chimney roars, an old TV aerial on the roof clashes. In the trees outside, the gale shrieks and  whistles in the bare branches..  I've just found out that 'psithurism'* is the correct word for the sound of wind in trees - strictly speaking in the leaves but there are none now, they were all hurled away weeks ago.

Just as you can't hear the wind, only its effects, so you can't capture it visually except in its actions. These twigs were bouncing up and down but my camera recorded them as static. I superimposed  two images to try to achieve an impression of movement but that didn't work either. You'll just have to take my word(s) for it. Maybe I'll venture to the coast tomorrow...

*Unlike the wind, the 'p' is silent.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.