Storm

I went over to the harbour for a coffee and scone after lunch. A storm was brewing. Two storms in fact. One had already broken.

The first was the indefinite closure of the Forth Road Bridge. A crack in part of the steel supports.The only other road route from Fife to the south and Edinburgh is not intended for 12 million vehicles which cross the FRB each way each year. There was an 11 mile queue to cross the bridge on the other route at rush hour on Friday.

Train services can't cope with the extra demand. The airport is just on the other side of the FRB. How do I get there for 8.30am on the 23rd (we know the FRB won't re-open until January at the earliest)? Probably I'll have to get a train across the previous evening and stay the night in a hotel in Edinburgh.

The Scottish Government has known for years that the FRB structure is in poor condition - built in the 60s it was never intended to carry 24 miliion vehicle each year, never mind the size of trucks we have now as compared to then.

It got a new bridge started several years ago - howls of criticism from the usual idiots who've gone very quiet now. The new bridge will open next year.

Storm 2 is the weather. I almost got blown off the pier getting my Blip. Heavy rain as well as storm force winds.

Storm 3 is Blipfoto. More on that from me later. Being a lawyer I'm used to liquidations (lost £750 in fees to a client going bust last month) and crowdfunding.

I had planned on going to Edinburgh to see the ice hockey in the evening. Cardiff on a Scottish tour. Well, it wasn't to be (see above). Annoying, as they were losing 0-3 with 17 minutes left and went on to win 4-3.

I did get to see ERC Ingolstadt's derby with Red Bull München on Laola1.TV (Austrian online channel) and they won 4:2 in a great game with a great derby atmosphere.    

Last (if you haven't drifted off yet) I often think of this when I'm by the sea in winter, as it conjures up images of summer and the Med. (And of Meg Ryan & Françoise Hardy, I confess). Dream on...

La Mer

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.