Where the Light Gets In

By DHThomas

High winds

clinking joyfully
rough shell and mother-of-pearl
autumn wind blowing

I only stepped out for a few minutes this morning to tour the garden in its autumnal apparel. By the shed, the wind chime made a racket. There was a nice ray of light, the kind you get when high winds blow the clouds away.

Tonight, the wind has abated and the grey clouds are back with a promise of rain. I don't mind it: I'm back inside the house after a short foray into the nearby shop for some cakes I promised my troupe I'd bring back to share tomorrow, at our pre-Christmas dinner. It's called a kouign amann and literally means butter cake.

I also bought a magazine whose main subject is power management in Brittany. Apparently only 12% of the electricity that is used are produced locally. With loads of agricultural land and hundreds of kilometres of coastline, the possibilities to generate power are many, from on- and offshore windmills to using tides to rotate underwater turbines and using agricultural waste to produce biogas which in turn will be the fuel for power-generating factories. There's hope there - and it's clean energy, too!

As I wrote this morning in my blip for yesterday, I have pledged to buy (a few) shares in BlipFuture. Every little helps. Of course, a lot helps more... ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.