Turner

We took a trip to the Turner prize exhibition, which is in the Tramway this year.

I'm no expert but I don't feel this was an exceptional year for the prize, which is a shame given the strong links and interest in Glasgow.

There was certainly enough in the venue to keep interest and conversation though, especially 'Doug', songs about 'a body' performed hauntingly by a group of singers.

I found most of the work uncomfortable (perhaps art is meant to do that?) and the only room I enjoyed being in (and my hands down winner) was 'Assemble'. 

A workshop full of crafty beauty, with a connection to the real world (the pieces were created alongside a community in Liverpool to regenerate a row of homes). I also loved that they have started a social enterprise to share and generate more value from the efforts.

You can read more about 'Assemble' here.

And for a proper review of the Turner, see fellow blipper Jan.

The winner is announced on Monday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.