keithedwards7

By keithedwards7

As a Blipper I am always on the look out for something that little bit different. Most of my Blips feature Northamptonshire in one way or another, a lot of dogs as you may have noticed and my family, particularly my two beautiful granddaughters, Mae and Charlotte. Visited M and S this morning (they currently have a deal on wines - buy 6 and receive 25% off), we have been known to partake of the odd glass now and again! On the way back I took a diversionary route in the hope of spying something of interest and I drove into Nobottle, a small village a couple of miles from home. Many of our visiting friends from overseas or other parts of the UK always chuckle at the name so I did a wee bit of research and discovered the following:

In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson's Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Nobottle like this:

A hamlet in Brington parish, Northamptonshire, 5½ miles W N W of Northampton. It was known, at Domesday, as Nevebote and Nevebotle: it came afterwards to be called Newbottle, and by corruption Nobottle.

When driving through on the main road, blink and you will miss it, but if you stick to the speed limit you may see a little more of the village!


 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.