SpotsOfTime

By SpotsOfTime

Pooley Bridge

The bridge has very sadly collapsed under the pressure of the sheer volume of water. It is hard to believe. I couldn't get any closer because I didn't have wellies on but you can see pictures here.
I couldn't get out via Eamont Bridge which was flooded and closed but managed to get through at Brougham to get some wood and coal and called by the hospital to see if extra hands needed. There were only a few evacuees there and Penrith was bizarrely like another world with people busy Christmas shopping. I couldn't quite get my head round it. I didn't want to risk not getting back so headed home and walked down to Pooley. I didn't dream this would happen.

For those that don't know the area this bridge is at the outflow of Ullswater and a few miles upstream from my blip yesterday.
Adding a link to PaulaJ's Eamont series, hoping she doesn't mind, as it shows the bridge under more clement conditions ... and standing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.