Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Harrold

On the first Sunday of December every year a nearby town, Olney, holds 'Dickens of a Christmas', a street market with a Dickensian theme. There is street entertainment and all the stallholders dress up in Victorian-style clothes. I've been several times but not for a few years so today I thought I would visit, thinking I should be able to get a picture for my Blip. However, I ended up driving straight through the High Street and out the other side. It's quite a big event and was absolutely packed with people! That is, of course, great news both for the town and for the stallholders but there were far too many people around to have any chance of a decent picture of anything so I continued on to Harrold, a few miles further on, knowing the bridge there would be a good Blip substitute.

The water here is comparatively low; I've seen (and Blipped) it before when it was over the top of the arches and covering the wide flood plain next to the river. At least there is an effective flood plain here so houses rarely get flooded; my thoughts are with the people of Keswick (which I know well) and Cumbria with the floods they are experiencing at the moment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.