Artful Trees

I have a reputation at home of being a "late adopter," particularly of new technology, but the same could also be said of my slowness to take advantage of many of the seasonal events on offer here.

Today, for the first time, I went to Whatcom Museum's "Deck the Old City Hall" display of 20 imaginatively-decorated Christmas trees, and now I'll make that one of my holiday traditions. Some of the trees were decorated by local businesses, including Village Books, while others reflected the artistic talents of one or more individuals who collaborated on a themed tree. "A Tribute to Paris" by John Hansen was both beautiful and poignant, and had to be my blip today. (The extra photo shows it amongst some of the other trees in that area of the museum.)

Admission to the exhibit is by donation, with no minimum specified, so it's a very affordable experience, and there's still time to see the lovely trees, as the display is up through January 3 (Thursday-Sunday, noon-5pm). The handsome Old City Hall building, which was Whatcom Museum's original home, is worth seeing on its own, and Phil particularly enjoyed the many old photographs on display. 

I'll go back on another occasion to peruse the photos; for the immediate future, I plan to return to enjoy the pretty trees again, and also to visit the museum's Lightcatcher building to see "Unhinged: Book Art on the Cutting Edge" once or twice more before it ends on January 3. I'm so glad we're members of this amazing museum!

Blip 1424

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.