The full extent

Drove back to Keswick today to check the state of LPH - although we're on a hill, flooding from upslope isn't unheard of. It was impossible to get into Braithwaite at first, with the roads closed. So I took a walk up Latrigg and took this photo of Derwentwater and Bassenthwaite Lake - joined right through the centre of Keswick. I've seen it like this twice before - the first time in 2005, and again in 2009, but I think this flood is even worse!

My heart goes out to all affected by the floods, wherever they are.

I did eventually get into Braithwaite, and managed to get up to LPH, which escaped flooding, but Braithwaite is a real mess. Might go back there today to see if there is anything that can be done to help.

The worst thing is - more heavy rain and high winds are forecast for Wednesday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.