BacardiBev

By BacardiBev

I have lived in Gosport most of my life but never really taken any interest in its history

That was until I joined blip, I am learning new things all the time and the latest I found by pure luck

I was delivering a Christmas card to a friend in Parham Road today the road is long and narrow so I drove to the bottom of the road to turn my car around that’s when I noticed some boat wrecks in the lake luckily I had my camera with me but little did I know the battery was almost dead I managed a few shots then the camera shut down.

When I got home I downloaded the few images I had and then browsed the internet to see if there was any history about them. I was amazed to read that, Forton Lake is home to around thirty wrecked vessels of varying type, the majority of which arrived at the lake in the twentieth century. Among these are a Second World War motor minesweeper, MMS 293, which served in the Royal Navy with the Expeditionary Force of the Allied Naval Commander-in-Chief in 1944, and a former Gosport ferry  named Vadne which was built in 1939 and ferried passengers at Portsmouth Harbour from 1939 to 1943 and from 1946 to 1965.

I was surprised to find that my image was the Gosport Ferry Vadne I probably went on this boat as a young child when travelling across from Gosport to Portsmouth and back.

So my blip today is what is left of The Gosport Ferry Vadne I have tweaked it slightly to enhance it

I will return another day with a full battery in my camera to see if I can get a photo of the MMS 293 if I can work out which one it is

The extra is a shot taken at a different angle

Have a great week Everyone

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.